• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Just finished the Frances Camino

jennifer greaney

Time of past OR future Camino
June-July 2016
A few days ago I finished the 775 km from St Jean Pied de Port to Santiago and it was easily one of the highlights of my life so far. My credential and Compostela now my most prized possessions. It may seem a bit strange to be introducing myself at the end of the Camino instead of the beginning. I have been a member since April but until a few days ago I couldn't remember how to find the site!

I am a 61 year old Australian and this is my first time in Spain. I love the place! I love the Camino. I love it very much. I feel a little lost now! i have been staying in Santiago since I finished and on on Thursday will head off to Finisterre. I am wondering if other people feel this funny empty feeling when the Camino is over?

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
Indeed Jennifer many pilgrims do feel "that empty feeling" when our caminos are over. Thus we remember and hope to give back a part of what has been gleaned. Some may serve as hospitaleros offering physical assistance to fellow pilgrims. Others share their journeys anew offering tips/advice by writing to unknown readers as for example in blogs, books or on this Forum....
Every morning I wake and wonder how it might be walking the camino today in such heat or rain or snow. Every evening when offering silent thanks for the gift of the present day I give special thanks for personal camino memories and hope that I may "wear" a pilgrim shell until the end.

As a camino veteran you are definitely not alone!

Transport luggage-passengers.