• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Languages on Le Puy?

Stellere

Time of past OR future Camino
March 2014 - con mi padre
I'm considering walking Le Puy in 2016.

I'm a language hobbyist. I already speak French and Spanish. When walking the Frances in Spain, I often found myself wishing that I could communicate in Italian or German.

If I were to learn the basics of a language other than french before Le Puy, which one would be most useful?

Thanks!

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
I have a French friend who has done many Caminos with a Dutch friend. They have found German to the best common language for them to talk to each other. But, as Falcon says, French is pretty much the language.

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
When in Rome, do as the Romans do! The same applies for when in France!

If you were able to speak German you might be able to help translate from/into French for those Germans who don't speak another language. But really, French is pretty much what is spoken...
Margaret

The Germans who don't speak French, speak English. The French who don't speak German, speak English. I suspect you have that covered. 85% of the walkers on the Le Puy are French speakers; the remainder are from the Low Countries, North America, or German-speaking lands. I generally found the innkeepers would put the French-speakers into one room, and the rest of us into another. That worked pretty well, actually.