• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Le Puy to Santiago via Alternative Route(s)

Chuck Cunningham

Time of past OR future Camino
Starting April, 15, 2017
I am taking the Le Puy route and would like to know where to connect to an alternate route to get to Santiago. I apologize in advance for my ignorance but I'm a real green horn newbie. I'm mainly trying to avoid the crowds/masses on the CF. Maybe the Del Norte route (?) I've looked at some maps and it looks like if I go directly into SJPP then it's rather awkward to get back up to the coast? So once again I lay my problem at the feet of you experienced pros, and it IS greatly appreciated. Y'all have already saved me a multitude of sins.

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
The first edition came out in 2003 and has become the go-to-guide for many pilgrims over the years. It is shipping with a Pilgrim Passport (Credential) from the cathedral in Santiago de Compostela.
If you think you will be in full walking mode, there is a marked path that connects the two. Look for posts here on Voi de la Nive, it's a three day walk from SJPP to Bayonne. I have not walked this, but several forum members have, and they use a lot of superlatives to describe it. Try @Kiwi-family for instance. Buen camino.

Just to share, I'm sure most of you have heard of Airbnb a booking company that puts people up in usually private rooms, studios, etc.
This is one example. It's a little studio I booked in Le Puy for $33 per day. Check out the photos while you are there.
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/15964514