• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Looking to walk in Spring.

ALKoop

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances (2018)
Being from the southern hemisphere, I have no experience of spring in the northern. I am thinking about starting the Camino Frances around middle of April 2018. What kind of weather can I expect? What temperatures? Is the road more slippery? Is this a busy time on the Camino Frances? Are there other things that this time of year brings that I should consider before fixing this time into my schedule. I'm really looking forward to this experience. I'm sure it will be life changing.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Temperatures will vary a lot depending on the part of the route. You should get a good idea of the typical temperature and rainfall patterns by entering various major towns along the way into this website: https://weatherspark.com/ It is fairly safe to assume that you will encounter rain at some point, especially in Galicia. Wise to be prepared for it.

Holy Week and Easter tend to be the opening times for a lot of the smaller albergues which close over the winter. Most places should be open by the time you begin walking and you should avoid the Holy Week crowds which can be large.