• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Looong Toronto Layover

Shawnasong

Time of past OR future Camino
September 2016
Hello Dear Peregrinos!
I am so excited to start the travel section of this camino journey on Sept. 6th. I am arriving in Toronto at 9:00 pm and do not leave for Madrid until nearly 7:00 pm the following evening. I am looking for help with making an overnight plan...
Do you live there and are willing to take in a traveler for the night, arriving a bit late?
Do you know someone who would be willing?
Does that airport have a place where travelers can sprawl for a night?
Any other ideas?
I have looked on airbnb and found a couple of places within a half hour to the airport, so that's an option too. I have never used airbnb before, so testing the waters for other ideas too.
I will have a sleep pad and sleeping bag with me, so I can always hunker down in a corner of the airport, I guess. I've never been there, so maybe that's not really okay...
Thank you in advance for your responses!
Shawna

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
There are hotels available close to Toronto Airport complete with shuttle service to and from. Do yourself a favour.

Toronto Airport is very busy. You will find it hard to sleep undisturbed even if you do find a relatively untrammeled corner to roll out your bag.

I'm not sure I want to know why you are traveling from Costa Rica to Madrid via Toronto ... and why you selected flights with such a long layover ... but I'm sure there is a good reason.

Is there any way you can change the arrangements so you don't have such a long layover?