• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Luggage to Ivar from St. Jean ??

grayland

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
Yes
I need to post an "after Camino" suitcase on to Ivar in Santiago. I arrive in Paris and will drag it along to SJPdP. The suitcase is needed as we are (as usual) doing a bit of after Camino traveling.
This is about 13 January so the level of service will be curtailed.

I usually send a small suitcase on to Ivar..but for the past few years have arrived in Spain and stayed away from the CF.

The problem is getting the suitcase to a Spanish post office to get a reasonable fee and Ivar usually tells us to post from within Spain to avoid problems for him.

So...I have no experience with the transport services and don't really know how they work.
Will one be open in January?
My question is where I would have it forwarded ( if that is possible).
Where is the nearest Spanish post office that may be open?

I guess I can carry it to Roncevalles, if necessary. It would get a few laughs if anyone else is walking from St. Jean that day.

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
The post office in Pamplona was where we posted stuff home in 2012. I don't know if there are any big ones before that. There is a list of post offices on the CF somewhere on the forum but I haven't found it yet. It was posted a few years ago. I will keep looking.
You may have to use baggage transfer as far as Pamplona unless someone else comes up with other info.

PS Just found this. Hope it helps.
http://www.correos.es/ss/Satellite/site/pagina-localizador_oficinas/sidioma=es_ES

Grayland,