• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Madrid Camino Guide - Recommendations please

AmandaW

Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie and will be setting off at the end of the month on my journey along the Madrid Camino, planning to join the Camino Frances around Sahagun. I have John Brierley's guide book for the St. Jean - Roncesvalles - Santiago and was planning to use the Confraternity of St James guide book for the Madrid route but unfortunately their website is down and I cannot purchase it. I'd really like to hear from anyone who could help me by recommending a guide book for the Madrid route as I understand that this route may not be as well travelled/sign posted etc. and if there is anything that I am worried about it is my useless sense of direction!! :) :) :) One of my hopes is to improve my direction problems and fear of getting lost through taking this journey - amongst a multitude of other things of course!! Any help/advice from you more experienced people is greatly appreciated as I'm sure you can remember your nerves the first time you set out on your journeys! :)

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
A selection of Camino Jewellery
And in my experience, the route is very well signposted! I really enjoyed the Madrid camino, and I think you will too! It's one of the only caminos I've walked where I haven't got lost at least once, so don't worry about your directional abilities!
Buen Camino!

I have walked it 2012 and 2013. You need to here it once again, you will not get lost :). It was better in 2013 compared to 2012. Take a day of in Segovia it´s a beautiful city. If you haven´t seen my pictures on youtube search for "roger hogstrom". Good luck / Roger