A donation to the forum removes ads for you, and supports Ivar in his work running it

Advertisement

The big map o the Caminos de Santiago

Making a deposit for a room

Camino(s) past & future
I have walked from SJPP to Burgos in 2017
Will begin Burgos to Compostela in May of 2018
I was asked if I could make a deposit for two rooms that I reserved. I got a BIC number along with other info, but I have never done this before and I'm in California. I usually use booking.com, but I also use the Leslie Gilmour guide and some of the hotels/hostals don't have a website, so I email them. Has anyone out there ever had to do this before? This is new to me and they are asking for a 25% deposit, but said it's not mandatory. I don't want to lose my reservations if we get there late in the evening.
Thank you for your help!

Camino(s) past & future
CF11, CF12, CP13, CF14, CA15, S.Anton15, CF15, CI15
Ditch Pig16, CF17, CP17, CdN, CM, CF18, LePuy19
bookings.com asked for your credit card information and if you do not cancel within 24 hours or end up a no show you are charged for the night. I guess this is similar but I have never heard of it. Most place on the Camino are 8 to 12 euros and if you show up by 1 or 2 in the afternoon you are pretty much guaranteed a bed. Most pilgrims do not walk on the Camino late in the evening.

Camino(s) past & future
CF SJPdP to SdC
(May 2015)
CF Sarria to SdC
(May 2016)
CF SJPDP-SdC
(Apr/May 2018)
VdlP (2020)
I have just made a couple of bookings.
One didn't require anything.
Another required a credit a card to secure the booking. No drama.
I would happily have paid in advance to secure the room as I wanted this specif place where availability is very limited..

Lots of people book and don't turn up.........
There are always 2 sides ;)

Last edited:

bmcbride

CVRambler
Camino(s) past & future
Frances (2014), Camino Inca (2015), Primitivo (2017), Portugues (2018), Finisterre (2018)