• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Map recommendations

Ella88

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning May - June 2016
Hello there. This is my first time posting on here, although I've gathered a wealth of knowledge and advice from this forum which has helped me prepare for my upcoming Camino. I will be leaving from SJPP on May 17th and have given myself 6 weeks to get to Santiago.

I've done a fair bit if travelling before, although nothing like a walking pilgrammage! I would like to avoid getting a guidebook as my impression of the Camino is that you don't have to be especially organised in terms of planning stages in advance if you don't want to. Part of the enjoyment of this walk for me will be surrendering that temptation to plan and to be enjoy the journey as it unfolds in real time.

Anyway, the point of this is that I wanted to ask for recommendations on maps. I see that a lot of guide books say that they include detailed maps. I've found an up-to-date and very detailed list of alburgues along the route, so I really just need a guide to following the route from each town. If it's not too naive a question, is it possible to turn up and follow signs along the way? How well marked is it? I would feel more secure with a map in anycase. I don't mind digital or paper form.

Thanks in advance :)

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-