A donation to the forum removes ads for you, and supports Ivar in his work running it

Camino Forum Store

Advertisement

Mason sign in cathedral?

ivar

Administrator
Staff member
Donating Member
I am not an expert on this topic, but as many others I have read Da Vinci code and find these things interesting.

Today I visited the cathedral, sat down towards the front and looked up into the dome and saw something like this…

This is not the actual picture from the cathedral, but the drawing on the top of the dome was a lot like this triangle with the eye in the middle.

Is this not a mason sing as well? Am I way off base here?

Ivar

Advertisment

Tonm

It is a sign that you find in freemason hall, however the sign is also used in catholic churches in europe. It is not exclusively used by masons, as are most signs.

Rebekah Scott

Camino Busybody
Donating Member
Camino(s) past & future
Many, various, and continuing.
The whole "Masonic" business is an outgrowth of the Protestant Reformation, which endowed us with all kinds of critical thinking skills that kinda slid downhill into paranoia after a generation or two. Anything in a church that looked "weird" suddenly was labeled "Masonic" or "occult" or "papist" or "cabalist" or otherwise conspiracy-theoretical por los siglos de los siglos... This "eye in the sky" dates right back to Egypt, it is the symbol of God´s all-seeing presence. It is a popular image for church domes and the peaks of retablos, when an actual God the Father image won´t fit in the space, or was unfashionable. The Greeks used this, the Romans used it, the Visogoths did too. It shows up again, as in this example, in a neoclassical setting -- 16th or 17th century Enlightenment people harking back to Greece and Rome. It is, fundamentally, God watching Us. Over and over.
Unless you prefer the conspiracy theories, which will tell you all kinds of wild stuff that is "absolutely true."

Tonm