• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Median age on the camino

danielgutz92

Hey, next summer will the first time I will be doing the camino, but I'm i bit nervous as I will be doing it solo and don't know if there will be a lot of people my age with whom I can share the experience. I am a 21 year student but I've heard that the median age is 30 - 50.
Any thoughts??

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Hi,
There was a real mix of ages when we did the camino ! Don't worry about it, there were lots of young people , and they seemed to meet up and have fun together as well as mixing with different generations.
I just loved meeting people of all ages, and that's part of the beauty of the journey, that in a way ,age becomes less of an issue, than it does in "real life" .
Buen camino :)

Statistics from 2012:

Edad Nº de Peregrinos
30 - 60 109310 (56,79%)
< 30 54731 (28,43%)
> 60 28447 (14,78%)

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
To say age doesn't matter on the Camino seems too easy, simple. However, I know of no other way to express.

It matters not when we are sharing sleeping quarters, offering plaster for blister, receiving a pour of wine, crying to another about physical or emotional pain, handing over a piece of chocolate, making an extra plate of pasta for the peregrino/a you know will come in later and too tired to cook, taking care of another who is sick, laughing with the Camino family, celebrating in SdC in front of the cathedral or watching the sunset in Fisterra.