A donation to the forum removes ads for you, and supports Ivar in his work running it

Advertisement

See the full Camino Forum Store here with many more camino products.

Music from Galicia - BBC Port w Julia Fowlis

Stivandrer

Perambulating & Curious. Rep stravaiging offender
Camino(s) past & future
I´ve got Camino plans until 2042,
- or till I fall flat on my face, whichever comes first !!
Admit it; you are dying to go, but cannot, or will not, due to the current situation, and you will watch anything just vaguely touching Spain and the Camino - but food programs alone will not cut it...

Julie Fowlis is an interesting artist from the North of Scotland - and an accomplished singer , and dons the pipes too....
She and her Irish collegue from County Kerry meet local Galician artists and join in......
Julie Fowlis plays regularly at the Tønder Festival (DK), where I work as a volunteer...She makes wonderful sessions.

Galicia, Scotland & Ireland and Brittany are bound together by culture, music and language*.
Meeting in singing, fiddling and piping, they will catch on like a house on fire...
I have an old Live CD with Altan (Ireland) visiting Galicia, and the audience would not let them go, so it became a double CD!!

Enjoy

* Galicia is not yet formally given a full Celtic status...a bone of contention...

Last edited:

Erromesa

Camino(s) past & future
Barnealdeko Donejakue Bidea (Basque Country interior)
Don't forget to watch the Asturias episode! Asturias is also a nation that has musical connections with Celtic nations.

Puxa Asturies!

I think Julie Fowlis and Muireann NicAmhlaoibh are incredible musicians.

Pelegrin

Veteran Member
Camino(s) past & future
Primitivo June 2013
SJPP - Logroño June 2014
Ingles July2016
I am Galician and I think that if Galicia is admitted in the club why not France, Belgium (Wallons) and more.