• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Myths of the Camino...

While I was last in Santiago (working as a volunteer in the Albergue Fin del Camino) I encountered some strange myths which appeared to have been passed on and grown in the telling on the Camino. I thought that this might be a thread where these can be raised and discussed/dispelled.

Myth 1: there is a municipal albergue in the centre of Santiago with about 500 beds.
This is one I have heard from a number of peregrinos who were looking for this albergue. Now, maybe there is an albergue in the centre with 500 beds. If there is, I certainly haven't heard of it and I've been coming to Santiago for every year since 2008. In fact, I can't even think of a hotel in Santiago large enough to have 500 beds. I met one girl at the peregrino office who was looking for this. I told her that she must have been thinking of Monte Gozo, which is not in Santiago, but on the way into Santiago (and a bit hard to miss). More distrubingly, while Camino Bob and I were walking back from a lovely meal after midnight, we ran into a peregrino on the Rua San Pedro who was looking for this albergue. He at least had a pen drawn map. When I looked at it, I realised that he was talking about the donativo albergue in the San Francisco monastry (which has a very limited number of places (maybe 40) and closes at 10pm (or so I was told)). I explained that the place on his map would, in all likelyhood, be closed when he got there. I felt quite sorry for someone arriving at such a late hour in Santiago trying to find a place to stay. I knew that we had places at the Albergue Fin del Camino, but we met him long after the Albergue locked its doors. We can take 110 people and are run by the Fun