• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

New at this...

SAcouple

Time of past OR future Camino
None so far - want to do a part in September 2017 and again in September 2018
Hi everyone/anyone,

My husband and I will be going to Porto in September (for work) and we would like to do a few days of the Camino on the days that we don't have to work. The idea is to explore a bit and then to bring my parents next year for a longer hike. We are complete novices. Can anyone do the Camino on their own - or do you need to go with a registered tour, must you pre-book accommodation and must you buy a hiking permit prior? Sorry if these are silly questions. Any advice would be appreciated.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
Anyone can walk the Camino. There is no permit system and you do not have to register with anyone. You certainly do not need to use a commercial company to make arrangements. If you would like to stay in the pilgrim albergues (hostels) and receive the Compostela certificate if and when you reach Santiago then you can find a Credencial (pilgrim passport) at the cathedral in Porto. You then have this stamped in various places along the way. If you do want to receive the Compostela you must have this stamped at least twice each day in the final 100km to Santiago - in practice from Tui onwards. The Portugues is increasingly popular and booking in advance may be worthwhile in busy periods. Pilgrims may choose to stay in albergues or private rooms - your choice. There are a number of guidebooks available and a lot of information about the route and accommodation online. You can find route details on these two sites:
https://www.gronze.com/camino-portugues