• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

New here! Hoping to ask some questions! :)

Shannon

Time of past OR future Camino
May/June (2014)
Hi there! I have been "lurking" and reading here for a couple of months. This board is an amazing, valuable tool! Thank you all for that.

I'm hoping that it isn't too much of a bother if anyone has any insight on a few questions I have. I have tried to find info on here on my own, (and very well could have missed answers to these questions as I'm not a pro with this forum as of yet!!)

My mom, 11 year old daughter and I will be walking the camino in June - July 2014. We expect to arrive around June 10.

As of this point, we are planning to fly into Madrid. I'm wondering if this is the best option?? We are coming from Canada. From my understanding, we can then take a train from Madrid to Pamplona and possibly a cab to SJPP? Is this correct? From other experiences, would a flight to Paris be better?

Also, with travelling with an 11 year old (actually she will have just turned 12) we may try for a private room at an albergue or hotel or (beds that you can rent in homes - am I correct that they have these?) but on the chance that we do stay in an albergue, how is it for children? Appropriate? And, I know that she wants to sleep with me, even in a single bed. Would that be an option?

I am assuming that the weather should be fairly hot come this time. Am I correct?

Does anyone else plan on bringing their children along at this time? From my understanding, children do walk the camino, but not too many :)

Thank you in advance for anyone willing to take the time to respond!!

Shannon