• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

New Pilgrim thinking of starting the Norte in SJPP

Porter Crapps

Time of past OR future Camino
A combination of the Norte and Primitivo (2018)
Title pretty much says it, I am an undergraduate student doing a research project on the Camino, and I am interested in interviewing people at the start of the Camino Frances even though I plan on taking the Norte to Oviedo and then switching to the Primitivo. Is there a marked route in existence, or would I have to map it myself? As a secondary question, does this seem like a worthwhile addition, or should I just start in San Sebastian?

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
Welcome Porter....

There is a established..but slightly used route to Irun on the Norte.
It is pretty traditional to start the Camino Norte from Irun and very few people start in SJPP (unless, of course they are walking the Camino Frances).

Irun is 1 (or 2 for some) days before San Sabastian and is right on the French Border...just a small bridge separates.
There is an albergue in Irun.

I, personally, would not include St. Jean in any plans to walk the Norte unless there is some compelling reason why you would start there.

You are kind of considering driving from London to Edinburgh but starting in Southampton (other geographies may apply). There is no 'start' to the camino, other than your own front door, despite the popular guide books promotion of a small town in souther France. Why not just interview the pilgrims starting in Irun? There will be plenty of them.

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.