• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Newbeginner on Camino Sanabrès

ngrace

Hi,

This is my first time walking pilgrimage, am planning to walk the last 100km to Santiago de Compostela this Eastern (will be in Spain March 29th - April 6th). Got a tip that a good starting point is Ourense following Camino Sanabrès. Have read that some of the stages are quite steep, so I was wondering if this route is to recommend for newbeginners? Am walking with my mom, none of us are used to hiking, but both in good shape.

Am planning to walk these stages:
Day 1 Ourense - San Cristovo de Cea 21
Day 2 San Cristovo de Cea to Castro Dozón 18
Day 3 Castro Dozón to Silleda 27
Day 4 Silleda to Ponte Ulla 22
Day 5 Ponte Ulla to Santiago de Compostela 21

Also wondered how it is with albergues, should one make reservations (is it even possible)?
Any to recommend, especially in Santiago de de Compostela?

Have been doing some research on this forum, but there is a lot of different information, so I appreciate all tips!

-Nadine-

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Hi Nadine and welcome to the Forum,

The day from Ourense to Cea is the steepest (19% or 1 in 5 in places) and there are two alternative routes. The hill is only for a few kilometres from memory.

The terrain otherwise is undulating but perfectly manageable and your stage distances look comfortable.

I'm afraid that I don't think it is possible to make reservations with the municipal Albergues. When I walked this route in April 2007 there was not a problem finding beds. I don't know whether this route has increased in popularity since then but hopefully someone who has walked it more recently will respond.