• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Newbie needing advice

tony downey

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances
I am a newbie to this. I aim next year to walk the Appalachian trail and would first like to do this pilgrimage to have some reflection time and to get my muscles in to shape for the Appalachian.

Here is the problem. I have never set out on any adventure like this, I have no gear yet an no experience, So I hope you seasoned travellers can help

Is the route well signed, will I get away without having to use GPS and be an expert map reader

I would like to camp and stay in hotels, are both available. I would like to get use to my tent and gear and camp a night and then maybe hotel a night.

What is this book that needs stamping and where en route do you get this done.

Any ideas, suggestions, advice, dos and donts, all welcome

Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
Tony, welcome to the forum. No hiking gear, no experience and you are planning the Appalachian Trail. Buen camino amigo; did you by any chance watch Wild?

You will find all the information you might need for any of the caminos on this forum and you will find the search facility (top right corner of the screen) very helpful. There are several threads on Camping - wild camping is illegal in Spain and compulsory on the AT; there are plenty of hotels, hostals and dedicated Pilgrim Albergues on the caminos, very few on the AT. To stay in a dedicated pilgrim Albergue you require a Credencial (that book; a pilgrim passport) on which you need to collects sellos (stamps) each day to show where you have stayed and where you have walked through.