Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Newbie questions

nangiakki

Time of past OR future Camino
hopefully - Northern Route/Primitivo (2015)
Hello - I'm a Newbie to the Forum and to the Camino as well so if I'm goofing up the etiquette please let me know. My daughter will be doing a study abroad in Oviedo this summer. Her course is over on August 1st and then we are hoping to walk the Primitivo. I have a few questions.
1. What kind of weather can we expect in August?
2. Where can I find a good summer packing list?
3. I was thinking about walking the Northern Route to Oviedo in July and then meeting up with my daughter in Oviedo but am a little worried since I would be a Newbie female solo traveller. Is that a bad idea?

Thank you!!

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
First of all there is no "goofing up" on this forum. The questions and answers range from arcane to philosophical. You will get responses that are as helpful as they are rhetorical.
As far as the Primitivo is concerned I have not walked it, but you can be assured August will be warm, the amount of rain is totally optional.
A summer packing list is available on many other threads and resources on this forum.
A solo female pilgrim is becoming more the rule than the exception these days, there is nothing to worry about and you will join up with a group of your choosing very quickly as there are lots of pilgrims walking the Camino that time of year.
Beun Camino.

[...] The questions and answers range from arcane to philosophical. You will get responses that are as helpful as they are rhetorical.[...]
Which caps it!. July and August, high season not only because of summer temperatures but also vacation time for people in the larger part of Spain and Northern Europe.
Spain is a civilized country in which you can find most of your necessities as you might find them at home. (perhaps with a bit of asking about, but so you might at home)