• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Norte-Crowded in May 2018

naplesdon

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
Multiple Caminos 2010 to 2019
This is my first time on the Norte. I haven’t even started walking yet because I am attending the European Rugby Cup this weekend in Bilbao. I am staying in Laredo for 3 nights and starting my Camino from there on Sunday morning. So far what I have observed already is there are more pilgrims on the Norte than I was envisioning. Lots of pilgrims walking through Laredo yesterday and this morning. Many pilgrims noticeable amongst the 100,000 rugby fans in Bilbao this afternoon. I am sure some of them were shocked and disappointed trying to find lodging around Bilbao tonight. I have walked the Ingles, the Aragones and the CP twice and seen less pilgrims. I am beginning to wonder if I am in for a shock the next 5 weeks looking for a bed?

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
I'm walking next year and I thought next year would be better in May because there's not a soccer event there then. Maybe I'm in for a shock too...

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
Leaving from Irun tomorrow, very worried about the weather! Are you finding it cold as well as wet? I think I may need to go out and buy some warmer stuff...

Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-