• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Overnight in Biarritz or Bayonne to combat jet lag

AnneU

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances (June 2017)
Hello,

I'm a newbie and am planning a Camino in June 2017. Looking at trying to gauge timelines and wondering if it makes sense to fly into Biarritz and then overnight there (or Bayonne) before traveling on to SJSPP to spend a day exploring. I'm going alone and know that the jet lag will hit me hard (flying from NYC) and want to be at my best when I start. And the thought of flying that much, taking a train, getting my credencial, and having hardly any time to explore SJSPP before tackling the Pyrenees the very next day is a bit overwhelming.

Has anyone started out this way? Any advice??

Part of my "theme" is to slow down and savor experiences rather than rushing through everything at top speed to get to the next item on my list.

Thanks ahead of time.

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Hello,

I'm a newbie and am planning a Camino in June 2017. Looking at trying to gauge timelines and wondering if it makes sense to fly into Biarritz and then overnight there (or Bayonne) before traveling on to SJSPP to spend a day exploring. I'm going alone and know that the jet lag will hit me hard (flying from NYC) and want to be at my best when I start. And the thought of flying that much, taking a train, getting my credencial, and having hardly any time to explore SJSPP before tackling the Pyrenees the very next day is a bit overwhelming.

Part of my "theme" is to slow down and savor experiences rather than rushing through everything at top speed to get to the next item on my list.

Thanks ahead of time.
Many people do what you suggest (I have) especially if they don't have too tight a schedule.

Hello,

Thanks ahead of time.