• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Pack size and route selection

mgflorida

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning for two weeks in May 2023!
Hi everyone! This is my first post here. I am currently studying abroad in Madrid for the semester and I am hoping to spend two weeks on one of the Camino routes (still undecided which one) when classes get out the last weekend of April. I backpack quite a bit back in the US, but only have a 55L pack. I know that is bigger than would be ideal for the Camino, but do you think it would be worth it for me to spend the money on a new, smaller pack?

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
If you can resist the temptation to fill up the extra space with unnecessary gear then there's no particular reason not to use a 55L pack. If it fits well then it might be a good choice. If you are planning to bring your pack as cabin baggage do check that the dimensions are within your airline's size limits.

PS: Apologies. I see you are already in Spain. Ignore the part about cabin baggage size limits unless you plan to fly internally within Spain. :)

Last edited:
Hi everyone! This is my first post here. I am currently studying abroad in Madrid for the semester and I am hoping to spend two weeks on one of the Camino routes (still undecided which one) when classes get out the last weekend of April. I backpack quite a bit back in the US, but only have a 55L pack. I know that is bigger than would be ideal for the Camino, but do you think it would be worth it for me to spend the money on a new, smaller pack?