• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Packing Strategy when using Luggage Transportation Service

Jen16

Time of past OR future Camino
Future Camino - no dates set yet
Newbie here...I am planning my first Camino (Camino Frances) and have decided to take advantage of the luggage transportation services. I have a "bulging disc" in my lower back (along with a few other back issues) so hauling 12lbs (10% of my weight) the whole way would probably not be in my best interest.

However, I cannot find any advice regarding the best way to pack for this. I know I would need a small daypack for the daily walks with the essentials (rain poncho, spare socks, jacket, water, etc.) But my concern is trying to carry 2 bags when traveling or in the towns once I pick up the transported bag. Is it best to keep the 2 bags separate all the time (using maybe a 10-15L daypack and a 20-25L transported backpack)? Or is it better to buy an oversized transportation backpack (30-40L) and stuff the contents of the daypack inside the larger bag during those times? I know there's some daypacks that wad up to a size of an apple, but I'm concerned those wouldn't be as good for my back. (I would think I would still need a daypack with padded straps and hip pads.) Or, if I kept the bags separate, is it safe to leave the larger bag at the albergues/hostels while I'm in town getting dinner (& wine, of course!) Hope my question makes sense?...ha! Any advice is much appreciated! :)

Very light, comfortable and compressible poncho. Specially designed for protection against water for any activity.

Our Atmospheric H30 poncho offers lightness and waterproofness. Easily compressible and made with our Waterproof fabric, its heat-sealed interior seams guarantee its waterproofness. Includes carrying bag.

€60,-