• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Photography equipment?..

Turandot

Time of past OR future Camino
Hello everyone,
I am planning to have my first Camino walk (CF from Sarria). My friend, with whom I was going to do it, got a foot surgery, so I will be a solo female traveler, in my 50s.
The thing is, I am a professional photographer and I am eager to take the good images while walking. However, I am concern about the safety at this point: would it be wise to go with a pro camera (nothing too over-fancy, though) and, occasionally, a tripod?...

Would greatly appreciate your suggestions!
TYIA

Ideal sleeping bag liner whether we want to add a thermal plus to our bag, or if we want to use it alone to sleep in shelters or hostels. Thanks to its mummy shape, it adapts perfectly to our body.

€46,-
I wouldn't worry about safety issues with carrying a professional camera either. It is all about how important is that camera to you vs the extra unnecessary weight you will be carrying. When I travel I do want a good camera (not professional - but still good compared to phone cameras). I carried my good camera last year. Sure - it took good pictures. But I couldn't just send them to the friends I just met who wanted a copy. I couldn't upload them to facebook or other sharing site. And even though it was small - it was too heavy. And it was just one more thing to keep track of and keep charged. This year I decided to upgrade my phone instead. My current phone has a very nice camera and it is multipurpose as I can use it as a camera, a phone, a guidebook, an app, a gps, etc.

Anyhow - totally up to you. How important is it for you to have professional quality pictures? And is your phone or other smaller camera so much inferior that you will hate the pictures?