• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Pilgrim in Roncesvalles in shorts

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms
Just saw on the national news that Roncesvalles will get snow over 500 meters tonight. Also, the video showed a pilgrim arriving in the snowdrift in shorts. o_O

Wow..

Ivar... isn't 500 meters more than 1600 feet????
Is that true????
Am I missing something?

Or do you mean it will snow above 500 meters???

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
Just checked the calendar and see that @Bobcat77 leaves SJPDP today. Take care please! I am not experienced with these conditions and I would definitely be taking the road not just to Roncesvales but also to Zubriri. And not by foot.

The 9th edition the Lightfoot Guide will let you complete the journey your way.
I saw this in the news too!

Edit: The brave man
imagedata.php

Last edited:
If he's from Norway, he's probably enjoying a heat wave.

But I can't help worrying that he'll be the next rescue down the line.

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Technical backpack for day trips with backpack cover and internal compartment for the hydration bladder. Ideal daypack for excursions where we need a medium capacity backpack. The back with Air Flow System creates large air channels that will keep our back as cool as possible.

€83,-
Just saw on the national news that Roncesvalles will get snow over 500 meters tonight. Also, the video showed a pilgrim arriving in the snowdrift in shorts. o_O

Wow..