• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Pilgrim Traditions and Personal Rituals

kincaidcrigler

Hello again!

You might recognize me from the question I posted earlier on here about humor and the Camino. I'm a student from the College of William & Mary in Virginia doing research on the Camino for the next few weeks, and I'm interested in using this forum as a way to gather stories from Camino veterans for my research.

In addition to looking at the role that humour plays on the Camino, I'm also interested in what people on here think about both established pilgrim traditions (seeing the botafumeiro swing and hugging the apostle in Santiago to stacking stones by the side of the trail) and the little rituals that pilgrims find themselves performing as they go (brushing your teeth a certain way, writing in a journal or making sketches in your spare time) Do you have a Camino tradition or personal ritual that's meaningful to you? You don't have to have made multiple Caminos, I'm looking for either your reaction to something lots of pilgrims "do" or to hear about something you found yourself doing regularly when walking.
A bit of background about your Camino experience would be much appreciated as well.

Have you ever been surprised by your reaction to a Camino tradition? If so, in what way?
Did you feel yourself to be a more or less creative person while on the Camino?

I will not write down your name or any other identifying information in my notes, or in any public talks or publications that result from my research. Feel free to contact me with questions.

My own Camino begins on the first of June. Ultreia!