• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Planning for the Camino Frances

Cloirtheach

Time of past OR future Camino
I'm planning on going this spring (2014) or next spring (2015)
Hi-ya! I recently just watched the movie The Way with Martin Sheen and it got me thinking that I needed to walk the Camino. I know it's probably not going to be as nice as the movie and I'm prepared to get a lot of blisters. I have very little to no knowledge of the Camino, except that it's related St. James the Apostle and that the usual 1000km route starts in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port. Now because I barely know anything about The Way, I have several questions:
1. How long should I be planning for this? Is this something you can plan for two months and jump in or should I be planning my trip a year in advance?
2. Because I want to walk like a pilgrim I am looking for the cheapest way possible. How much a day (food and hostels) would it cost? I know a lot of people say around $30-$35 is comfortable living, but I feel like I could sacrifice a couple things and do it cheaper.
3. When's the best time to go? I know flights are cheaper in the winter and I would love to walk at that time, but are there many people walking during the winter?
4. Do you make Camino Companions quickly? I know individual prayer and reflection is important, but I also feel you need at least one person to share the experience with.
5. Where should I be flying in if I'm going to be starting in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port? I read somewhere that I should be arriving in Pau, but is there a closer airport?
I appreciate all your help and please feel free to share some of your experiences!