• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Post Camino Question- Route from Cacabelos to Villefranca

Which route did you take?

• Through Valtuille de Arribe

Votes: 10 83.3%
  • Not through Valtuille de Arribe

Votes: 1 8.3%
  • Other

Votes: 1 8.3%

• Total voters

Rod Murray

Time of past OR future Camino
2016 CF 2019 PC
Its been almost 5 months since our Ponferrada to Santiago Camino in June and I've had lots of time to digest the experience. Having a fascination with maps, I've also explored numerous online Camino maps, many linked here in the forums.
My question is this- what is the most used route from Cacabelos to Villefranca? The map I used on my phone took us through Valtuille de Arribe. Most others do not show the Camino passing through there.
We did notice that we did not see any other Peregrinos that afternoon, but did have a lovely, quiet and scenic walk through vineyards, even if it was an extra few km.
What route did you walk? Where was the split in the trail?
Please take the poll above! Thanks for all responses and comments!

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
I have walked through the vineyards 2 times, that is the route under the power lines. It is a pleasant, pastoral mainly dirt path and both times I did it in a light rain but it is not muddy or slippery. I think the split is just up the road about 1km from Cacabelos but it is not very well marked if you leave town early in the morning. The other route appears to me mostly road walking.