• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Pre-Camino Syndrome

You have been before though. I go over my kit when I get back, and then I can pack the next time in ten minutes. My mom and I have a running night before leaving joke - Mom 'Have you packed yet?' Me 'No'.

And everyone is different. For me, a Spork is the most useless PITA. Hate portable washing lines, never used one. Miraculously survived several caminos without a suction hook or a laminated copy of my passport or a multitool. If it makes someone else happy to bring one, fair play to them. I bring a swimming costume, goggles and hat, and a net bag to stop washing machines destroying my bras. Only the overall weight really matters.

I am leaving on Wednesday on my first Camino, so I am a rookie and have started from scratch. I have spent months ( and an amount of money, that I don't like to think about) getting my gear together: Backpack, footwear, socks, pants, t-shirts/shirt, etc., etc. and I have spent days organizing it in my backpack in different (non-rattling) bags. It has been kind of funny but nevertheless I am looking forward to the day when I can do my packing in ten minutes and feel confident that I have done it right.

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc
I am leaving on Wednesday on my first Camino so I am a rookie and have started from scratch.
I am sure you will be very appropriately equipped! Your questions and comments have been very sensible, and you have responded gracefully to all suggestions. You seem to have taken the advice and put it to good use. On my first Camino, I took the suggestions seriously and ended up with exactly what I needed, at about 6 kg. I credit @mspath for her excellent advice and packing list!