Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Prices etc

HollyB45

Time of past OR future Camino
planning to attempt in september
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to all this so forgive me if I make a few mistakes.
I am a 19 year old girl planning on walking the camino from Oviedo at the end of September as part of my world travels and have a few questions.

1) What is the minimum amount you can spend per day on the camino/ price of hostels?
2) Any safety tip for a young lady walking alone?
3) when I finish at santiago I plan on going to Madrid. Does anyone know a cheap way of getting there?
4) Do you recommend getting a passport at the first stage or get it off this website?

Thanks!

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Hola and welcome to the forum.
a) Our personal experience of the Primitivo is getting dated (2012) but you can reckon on approx 6€ minimum for the public albergues, 10€ approx for menu del día (main meal), 3.50-5.00€ for breakfast if not provided in the albergue and in a cafe, extras (drinks and snacks during the day) plus food bought for either lunch or supper. Approx 25€ per day and more if you use private albergues or hostals. This year, on a different Camino, we are allowing 30€ each per day but are using private accomodation. We would rather over budget and bring some home than under budget and go hungry etc.
b) Keep your money, passport (national), and cards (money type) with you at all times - even to the shower, this could apply to phone and camera so take a good waterproof bag. This is just a sensible security precaution and not meant to suggest anything 'nasty' is common. Use your normal common sense - the camino is basically very safe.
c) never gone that way - sorry