• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Question about Camino: a round trip from St Jean Pied De Port to Santiago De Compostella

Benjamin Nguyen

Time of past OR future Camino
I'm planning to walk the camino
Hi, My name is Ben. I'm a college student with a budget. The first time I heard about Camino de Santiago is through the movie "The Walk" 2 years ago. I watched that movie at least 10 times and I can't get enough of it. The reason I want to walk the Camino is that I am currently running up against a gigantic wall and I'm honestly stuck. Somehow, I feel like if I do this walk, it would give me an insight of myself and giving me courage to face my problems. I'm also currently an officer in training; 2 more years then I would be 2nd LT. With my current mindset, I would let my captain and my peers down; I absolutely do not want that fear to come true. What I'm trying to say is that I need some advice about the Walk. Have anyone been walking the Camino back and forth? is it worth doing a round trip?
I heard so far is that the budget would be in range of 15 euros to 30 euros a day. what is the expectation during the walk? how's the walking alone like? I know there are tours for the Camino but I just want to do the walk without the tour guide.
What about the language? Spanish is not my strongest subject.

Last edited:
Join our full-service guided tour of the Basque Country and let us pamper you!
[QUOTE="Benjamin Nguyen, post: 267534, member: 42838"... Have anyone been walking the Camino back and forth? is it worth doing a round trip?