• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Questionnaire on reasons for hiking El Camino - masters stud

per_mand

I’m a master student at the University of Copenhagen (Denmark). For a project, I’m doing a sociological analysis of the hikers on El Camino to Santiago de Compostella in Northern Spain – who are they, and their reasons for hiking El Camino.

Please answer as detailed as possible, and return the questionnaire to my Email [per_mand@yahoo.dk], or as a personal message at this site. Thank you very much for your help. I will tread your answer anonymously.

1. Gender:

2. Year of birth:

3. Nationality:

4. Education:

5. Job:

6. Where did you hear of El Camino?

7. When did you hike El Camino?

8. When did you decide to hike El Camino (a week before, a month before..)?

9. How many times have you been hiking El Camino?:

10. How many days have you spend on El Camino?:

11. What was your average amount of money spend daily?:

12. What was the average age of hikers on El Camino?

13. Why did you hike El Camino?

14. What did you gain from the hike?

15. What was the greatest experience?:

15.b What was the worst experience?:

16. What are you especially going to remember from El Camino?:

17. Are you religious?:

18. In your opinion, were you a tourist, a religious tourist or a pilgrim on El Camino?:

19. What was the course of a typical day on El Camino?:

20. Did you mostly hike alone, or with other hikers?:

21. How many hours did you spend by your self in the course of a typical day?:

22. In your opinion, how important was the community with other hikers to you?:

23. What was most important, your personal experience or the community with other hikers?

24. Are you going to hike El Camino again?:

25. Why are you going to do it again?: