• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Questions about Le Puy Route (July 2017)

Siv

Time of past OR future Camino
Le Puy route july 2017
I will arrive at Le Puy 5th of july. This is my first time walking a camino so I have a few questions :)

What is the path like? Do I need my high mountain shoes or will Trail shoes (Hoka) be enough?

I have decided to bring a liner to sleep in. Will this be enough?

Is it really so many people walking that I have to prebook every day to get a bed?

And will I survive without speaking french :-D? I am Norwegian, I do not expect to meet to many scandinavians but there are some english speaking people i HOPE, so I do not end up totally insane without someone to talk to now and then :)

Really can`t waite to get started!

A guide to speaking Spanish on the Camino - enrich your pilgrim experience.
I will arrive at Le Puy 5th of July.
Congratulations! You'll have a wonderful time on a great route.
What is the path like? Do I need my high mountain shoes or will Trail shoes (Hoka) be enough?
The path is about one-third forest, one-third farm roads, and one-third lightly-travelled country paved roads (usually with shoulder walking). Some sections are the ancient Roman roads (with the original stones). In the hilly sections - which is the first half - the route goes straight up the hill rather than snaking back and forth in a series of switchbacks. As a consequence, this becomes a stream of water in rainy season, leaving behind many stones. You will want shoes with stiff soles, because of the many stones.
In July, yes. Gites have blankets available on request.
And will I survive without speaking French?