• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.
  • Camino Olvidado Guide created by one of our forum members

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Questions about the Viejo/Olvidado

Albertagirl

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
Frances; Aragones; VdlP; Madrid-Invierno; Levante
The Viejo to the Olvidado to the Invierno is drawing me in as my next camino. Even better to begin on the Aragones (post 24, above) which I have been longing to return to since I walked it in 2016. I have started my research by reading about the Olvidado from Bilbao, and find myself uninterested in Bilbao and the early part of the Olvidado. For me it seems more interesting to walk through Pamplona to the Viejo, then join the Olvidado later. With this many routes to link, I shall have to know the distances on each and how practical it is to link them. It might be possible to plan some version of this for the autumn of 2022. I shall not need to make any commitments or bookings until the summer. I am starting to plan tentatively.

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
Even better to begin on the Aragones
Yes, absolutely.

My >2-months-long pipedream?
Llança-Montserrat-Jaca (Cami Sant Jaume/Cami Catalan)
Jaca-Pamplona (Aragones)
Pamplona-AdC-Bonar (Viejo/Olvidado)
Bonar-Oviedo (San Salvador)
Oviedo-Santiago (Primitivo)

It will never ever happen. Pieces of it, I hope.

Yes, absolutely.

Jaca-Pamplona (Aragones)

It might take me closer to three months but I can afford the time. A greater challenge is the futility of planning long caminos in a time of pandemic. For me it is as much a dream as a plan.

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!