A donation to the forum removes ads for you, and supports Ivar in his work running it

Advertisement

The big map o the Caminos de Santiago

Rain coat on Camino del Norte

Nimbe007

Camino(s) past & future
I did the Camino Frances, Aragones, Via tolosana and Finistera. This year Camino Del Norte
Hello everybody, I will start in Irun on May 29th, should I take a rain coat like this one or just small one in plastic? I've seen on the weather website that there is a lot of rain now there.
poncho.jpg

tillyjones

Camino(s) past & future
Frances June 2015
VDLP May 2017
del Norte Sept 2018
I'm no expert, but I would say if you are preparing for rain, then this style would be better than a light, flimsy one. I have been spending my evening researching umbrellas and am leaning toward an umbrella instead of a rain coat, myself.

Mariane

Camino(s) past & future
May 2018
Hello everybody, I will start in Irun on May 29th, should I take a rain coat like this one or just small one in plastic? I've seen on the weather website that there is a lot of rain now there.
View attachment 42905
It has been raining very heavily overnight & looks like it will rain more. You definitely need a poncho plus a waterproof jacket.

Jan_D

Camino(s) past & future
Aragones (2011)
Frances (2012)
Norte (2013, 2014)
Hospitalera (2014)
Portugues (2017)
Yep, you'll need a poncho like the one in the pic. I'd also recommend gaiters, to stop the water getting into your shoes. I took waterproof pants/trousers when I was there a few weeks ago, but this might be overkill in summer.

Camino(s) past & future
French, North, Original and from Andorra through the Pyrenees.
All With mi Burro
Had intense thunder storms last two nights in Cantabria. Umbrella and a poncho I suggest to keep dryish. Get the right umbrella and it doubles as a walking pole. Will have showers and some rain for the next few days at least. But you can gets weeks with no rain after June.

Nimbe007

Camino(s) past & future