• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Rain coat on Camino del Norte

Nimbe007

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances, Aragones, Via tolosana, Norte, Primitivo
Hello everybody, I will start in Irun on May 29th, should I take a rain coat like this one or just small one in plastic? I've seen on the weather website that there is a lot of rain now there.
poncho.jpg

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
I'm no expert, but I would say if you are preparing for rain, then this style would be better than a light, flimsy one. I have been spending my evening researching umbrellas and am leaning toward an umbrella instead of a rain coat, myself.

Hello everybody, I will start in Irun on May 29th, should I take a rain coat like this one or just small one in plastic? I've seen on the weather website that there is a lot of rain now there.
View attachment 42905
It has been raining very heavily overnight & looks like it will rain more. You definitely need a poncho plus a waterproof jacket.

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
Yep, you'll need a poncho like the one in the pic. I'd also recommend gaiters, to stop the water getting into your shoes. I took waterproof pants/trousers when I was there a few weeks ago, but this might be overkill in summer.

Had intense thunder storms last two nights in Cantabria. Umbrella and a poncho I suggest to keep dryish. Get the right umbrella and it doubles as a walking pole. Will have showers and some rain for the next few days at least. But you can gets weeks with no rain after June.