• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Re coastal Camino

Twinkle

Time of past OR future Camino
2017/2018
hello I am new to this, could I please ask the following
1 I have never done a Camino walk before but thinking of doing the coastal Camino in November this year. Is this a good time to do it.
2 I am reasonably fit and will be 58 years of age, thought I will do it over 20 days or so as I will be on my own, is this do able and am I doing the right thing taking that amount of time. I want to be able to enjoy the journey not just compleating it.
3 should I book through a. Tour group so I can have luggage carried from destination to destination or is there a way to organise this privately.

Thoughts and input will be very much appreciated.

Anne

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.
Hi Anne, welcome to the forum! Where would you like to start walking from? It will take about 10 to 14 days to walk from Porto. The coastal route from Lisbon will take over 30 days, and is not waymarked. November is not a good month, especially on the coast, as the weather could turn very cold, wet and windy. There will be very few other walkers at that time of the year, if any. Feel free to ask more questions, and we’ll try and help.
Jill

Thank you for your prompt reply.

What would the best time be to walk the coastal way, I am hoping to start the walk in Porto. But was thinking of taking more than 14 days.
Could you also let me know about luggage transfer if you have any information.

Cheers

St James' Way - Self-guided 4-7 day Walking Packages, Reading to Southampton, 110 kms