• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Running Clothes?

Hello!

I'm a newbie with not a ton of money to spend on new clothing for my walk starting May 1st. I only plan on bringing a couple changes of clothes and supplementing with layers on top of that and am wondering what will work out this time of year.

I am thinking of just using a couple pairs of running capris as well as a couple of running racer-back tops (items I already own) with built in bras to cut down on another layer. Am I nuts? Will this be ok?

Any suggestions on layers to bring on top of this?

Thanks in advance!
Joan

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
I can't comment on the specific items you mention, I'm sure others more knowledgeable can. like you I don't have a ton of money and didn't buy specific new clothes for the camino but I walked when it was colder. A couple of changes of clothes is fine, there are washing machines on the way and you can almost always share a washing machine with others.
The temperature in May is likely to be variable, first thing in the morning may still be chilly, but when the sun shines in Spain it can be very warm, wear clothes that you are comfortable in for walking and will be comfortable in in the albergue. People wear all kinds of clothes, I wore baggy T-shirts because they were also comfortable to sleep in!
Enjoy your preparation,
Sue

Hola

The key thing is being able to wear layers of clothes if it is cold partcularly in the evening/night. Running gear is fine but I'd also advise you to take a fleece. You will also need some kind of rain gear - either a waterproof jacket and/or trousers or a poncho.

John