• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Sept Vs March for 2 weeks into Santiago

holhum

Time of past OR future Camino
Planning for Leon to Santiago June 2019
Sept vs March? Thanks to the lovely people who responded to my previous question (I hope it isn't terribly obvious that I have never used a forum before...hope I am not breaching etiquette, and feel free to tell me if I am).

I have realised that given my job as a teacher, coming all the way from Australia, I am probably going to travel and do my precious 2 1/2 weeks in either March or September. Is there a big difference weather wise if I am attempting that last approx. 300 km to end in Santiago if I choose March vs Sept? Thanks again. (I will get around to re-reading other people's relevant posts, but there are SO many I thought it would help if I can get my location and approx dates sorted before I dive in!)

A selection of Camino Jewellery
Weather/landscape wise there is the difference between (perhaps coolish) spring and (perhaps hottish) autumn/fall ;-)

Easter Sunday 2017 is 16th April, so if you happen to be close to Santiago in the week leading up to that date it will be VERY busy. If not it should be, most likely, quite but with enough company.

September has become a very favorite months to walk the Camino, so you will have more company then.

Hope that helps and Buen Camino, SY

Weather/landscape wise there is the difference between (perhaps coolish) spring and (perhaps hottish) autumn/fall ;-)

Easter Sunday 2017 is 16th April, so if you happen to be close to Santiago in the week leading up to that date it will be VERY busy. If not it should be, most likely, quite but with enough company.