• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Shorter Legs (stages) and accommodation on the Variante Espiritual

Ella Minnow

Time of past OR future Camino
Hi all,
I'm just beginning some tentative planning to hopefully complete my first Camino journey in autumn 2022. This site seems really helpful! I have MS and was recommended the Camino Portuguese from Tui as its relatively flat and I think I can do shorter daily legs. I also hope to build in at least one rest day.
I'm very drawn to the Variante Espiritual, it sounds like just the sort of experience I'm craving, but the legs seem quite long.

As a total novice, it would be great to hear some of your experience and wisdom. Would it be possible to break the route down into more manageable stretches (I think 15km per day would be my maximum, and even that might be ambitious!).

I've also little concept of how the accommodation works. If I'm late to an albergues and it's full, what happens? I have anxiety about having to sleep on the road! Are there other options without booking?

A tour company gave me an itinerary for the CP (not the VE) but to be honest I'd prefer to have a more authentic pilgrimage experience. I really want to do this whole my mobility still allows me!

Thanks so much in advance.. Your collective wisdom is much appreciated!

EM

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.