• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

SJPP to Roncesvalles or Burgete?

almhath

I am reading threads and enjoying. I can't go yet, but I'm beginning to bet I'm one of the best prepared unexperienced, absolute newbies around. I've even been learning why, for the last 20 years, my feet hurt at the end of each day (Keds, no support...), and what to do about it: I'm taking store-bought gel inserts and making modifications to them to provide just the right amount of arch and plantar support. :)

BUT...

On the topic of SJPP to Roncesvalles, I know about stopping in Orisson on the Naqpoleon Route. I know about the Valcarlos route (bit shorter, not as high, better for bad weather)----it appears Daniel was killed in the movie "The Way" getting lost off the Napoleon route in bad weather.

BUT... (Again :) )

I do read now and then experienced trekkers talking to us new folks about doing this or that and then setting out on the first leg of the Camino, being the SJPP-Roncesvalles leg, and I'm prompted again to ask the question: Really?

Because, while I'm not an experienced trekker, I'm thinking it's not just the distance—24k?—but it's also the grades: first up to over 1400 then down the other side, both of which are harder to make than just plodding on the flats.