• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Solo female walking Camino Portugese May

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aoife Haugh

Time of past OR future Camino
First time
hi everyone. I'm starting out from Lisbon on May 16th for 5 days to Tomar. Was going to do it in walking shoes. Would this be ok. Any other tips would be amazing. I've done the French camino 2 years ago so not a complete novice.

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
my plan is to take my running shoes and my hiking sandals rather than my hiking boots which I think would be overkill for the Portuguese. I start from Porto May 20, staying in Matosinhos May 21

Dear Aoife, I just came back from CP, Porto to Santiago. I did not do it alone, however I passed by many women walking solo.

The trail is very safe and people are lovely (even more than in the CF, I thought!). I also think very comfortable walking shoes are a good choice. There is a fair bit of stones, paved roads and asphalts, so cushioning and softness, at least for me, were more important than firmness of ankles or anything else.

I cant say anything about the trail between Lisbon and Porto, but you will probably have a great experience. Do not miss the opportunity of eating "natas" (Portuguese custards). Even if you are not a fan of custards, try them - they are a local pride and absolutely delicious!

New Original Camino Gear Designed Especially with The Modern Peregrino In Mind!
Lisbon to Tomar is a pleasant, flat stretch, and boots would be overkill.