• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Some beginner questions

pagancabra

Time of past OR future Camino
English Way
Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to all of this and have tried to find answers to my questions online and browsed the forum first, but there are a few things I'd still like clarified. Hopefully, some of you can help:

- Is there a time limit for walking the camino? Let's say, I really like a town along the way and would like to spend another day (or if this happens a few times), will it affect the validity of my completion certificate-wise?
- I understand the Compostela and Certificate of Welcome can be obtained in Santiago de Compostela and I just read that there is also Muxiana and Fisterrá. Are there any other related certificates?
If I start in Poland or Germany, will I have to complete the whole route to Santiago to receive a certificate? Or is it possible to only do the Via Baltics, e.g.?
- Would I have to do the whole route to Santiago at once or could I do it in stages? Could I do, let's say, the Via Imperii in April and continue where I left off, in September?
- Is it possible to receive a Compostela / Certificate of Welcome if walking the camino 'backwards', e.g. starting in Santiago and ending in Le Puy?
- Is it possible to pick up a Compostela/ Certificate of Welcome anytime after completion or does it have to be done right away? If I arrive later than expected and have to catch a flight, thus am unable to pick up my Compostela / Certificate of Welcome, can I still get it a year later for that walk?
- Can the Certificate of Distance only be obtained in Santiago? Or somewhere along the way, if I don't walk the entire route to Santiago?