• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Spanish on the Le Puy Camino

urbanhiker

Time of past OR future Camino
Camino Frances (2012)
Le Puy to Moissac (2013)
Camino Portugues (Sept 2014)
Camino del Norte/Irun to Luarca (April 2015)
Camino Inglés/Camino Finisterra/Muxia (Oct 2015)
Moissac to St. Jean (2016)
I was wondering if Spanish is common along the Le Puy Camino. I have been studying French for a few months and can construct some basic French phrases to help me along the way. I think I can order food, rooms, taxis, and follow train schedules and such.

I did the Camino de Santiago last year and noticed that in most cases, people along the way did not speak English. English may be a universal language but it isn't in smaller towns across Europe. I am fluent in Spanish and was hoping I could that in place of my French, although I continue to study French everyday.

Any thoughts?

Ray

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
Not really - It might help you read some signs etc because of similarities between the languages, but French is the only language generally spoken on the Le Puy route.
Margaret

You'd get more use out of English than Spanish, frankly, and the English will BTW be not very useful at all ...

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc