• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

St. Jean to Santiago in 27 Days???

cookie139

Hi there!

I am leaving for Paris from India on the 10th of September and making all the train connections will be arriving at St. Jean on the 11th September. I plan to start walking on the 12th. However, since its my first time in Europe, the Spain consulate gave me visa stay for only 31 days! :( So, based on that I need to reach Santiago on the 8th of October. That leaves me just 27 days of walk. I wanna know if its doable and if anyone has already done it then, I would really appreciate a breakdown on places you stayed on the Camino.

If at all its not doable, where would you suggest I start from? Will Pamplona be a good option? And can I get a bus service from St. Jean to Pamplona? I would then consider reaching St. Jean and get my pilgrim passport and get onto the bus to reach Pamplona on the 11 September.

The 2024 Camino guides will be coming out little by little. Here is a collection of the ones that are out so far.
Hola - my view is that walking this route in 27 days is perfectly possible. Many pilgrims gather strength and stamina and end up walking longer and quicker towards the end. What you mustn't do is rush the beginning or you will develop physical problems. Take it easy and build up gradually.

You can look at different options for stages on this site: http://www.godesalco.com - go to the Planificador.

If you are worried about being time constrained then either start a little further along the way - as you say , in Pamplona for example. Or decide that if you are running out of time you will move forward by bus.