• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Starting my first camino from Porto on mid-October

Akemi

Time of past OR future Camino
2016 Oct. Portugues for the first camino
Hello, I'm new to this (any kind) forum and not familiar with posting manners (Sorry if I did something wrong).

I'm a Japanese middle-aged woman who have decided walking solo on the Central Route in this mid-Otober (before the winter is comming).

This pilgrimage is planned rather hastily and I have to say, I should have found this helpful site a lot sooner, because information about Camino Portguese in Japanese is quite few.

On plannning, naturally I intedded to start from the Cathedral, but now I understand that I should avoid the heavy traffic around the big city Porto. So instead I plan to start walking from the Metro station 'Forum Maia' after the small research here.

Here is the problem: I have no sense of direction. Really awful one. Everywhere I go for the first time, I always get lost easily and end up sweating and cursing to myself. I also have lower-back pain problem and wondering about the direction in a totally unknown town with my backpack is the last thing I wanna do.

In short, is starting from the 'Forum Maia' right choice for me? I mean, no possibility of getting lost for the first day? Or is there any better way for this rather hopeless woman who limits each day walking to less than 15 km yet to complete in 16 days?

I'm departing from Tokyo tomorrow morning so that I might not be able to reply to your responses timely (if any), but I'm always grateful for your comments.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.