• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Starting on the Meseta on Saturday. I'm a bit nervous.

cilento

This is my 3rd Camino, but it's my first time alone. I'm starting on the Meseta on Saturday (7/20); leaving tomorrow night. I'm all packed and prepped to go, but now the nerves have set in. I could use some encouragement on 2 topics;

1) I have a major fear of dogs. When I was traveling with a friend, it didn't really bother me, but now it's becoming an obsession. I'm worried that I'll spend half my time being frightened of what lies around the next corner.

2) I haven't heard of too many people who have started on the Meseta, and I'm wondering why not. It seems like a good plan; relatively flat for the first few days. What am I missing?

Thanks!

Join our full-service guided tour and let us convert you into a Pampered Pilgrim!
Have a great time!

Starting on the Meseta sounds like a great idea, and I can't think of any downsides. I'm sure many people doing the Camino in stages start one of them in Burgos or nearby. It's quite warm in Europe at the moment, so be mindful of those stretches with little shade/water!

Hopefully most of the dogs will be asleep under trees etc. Remember that the Camino will be busy so if the worst comes to the worst just pause and let other pilgrims catch up so you can pass any unfriendly looking dogs as part of a 'group'.

Buen Camino!

Transport luggage-passengers.
From airports to SJPP
Luggage from SJPP to Roncevalles
I walked part of the Meseta alone a few weeks ago and found no problems with dogs, in fact I can't remember seeing any at all and certainly none to worry about.