• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Stove or not?

migolito

I'm planning the Camino de Frances this year. I have a lot of backpacking experience and equipment. However, I realize the Camino is not a wilderness trail. It planning my equipment should I plan on taking my stove (and some "emergency" dehydrated food) or is it reasonable to rely on what I find along the way...pardon the pun.

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
A stove, its fuel, the associated cookset, not to mention the dehydrated food -- all add significant weight. I'm sure you have noticed the consistent theme throughout this forum - on almost every thread - that reducing your pack weight to a minimum is the key approach to a healthy and satisfying Camino experience. So, unless you have some overriding and terribly pressing requirement (allergies, religious restrictions, personal insistence on eating your own cooking), you can safely leave the stove and its related burdensome paraphernalia at home.

Many alburgues have cooking privileges and equipment available, if you really get the urge to cook.

migolito,

Many a stove is available on the market to choose from. For my walk i choose a sub one ounce DIY stove with a 200ml drink can as container. Total weight about 18 gram. Alcohol is available if memory serves correctly in 100ml containers from food chain stores and pharmacies. Google/youtube one ounce stoves.

I adapted my diet according to the foods and facilities available and used this stove only once to boil eggs with.

As a rule i always carry additional food since Sundays and siesta (closed shops) have caught me off guard until i got my resupply rhythm right.

The focus is on reducing the risk of failure through being well prepared. 2nd ed.