• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Student Camino Thesis Survey

was/s Cultural Heritage Tourism a motivating factor in your decision to walk The Way?

• Primary motivation

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • secondary motivation

Votes: 7 87.5%
  • No motivation

Votes: 1 12.5%

• Total voters

K Malpica

Time of past OR future Camino
Frances (2011)
Norte & Primitivo (2014)
Greetings Amigos de Camino!

I am a student of history and anthropology studying at the University of Massachusetts Boston. I am contacting you in order to request your help by participating in a research study, which will be part of my senior thesis “El Camino de Santiago: Cultural Heritage Routes and Resources.” I would be most grateful for your assistance with this study, by taking part in an anonymous survey/questionnaire, by answering the questions below.

The purpose of this questionnaire is to better understand the motivations and experiences of present day pilgrims on El Camino de Santiago and their interest and insights regarding cultural heritage tourism in relation to their El Camino pilgrimage. Your answers and identity will remain anonymous in the written thesis, which will be presented to the anthropology department at the University of Massachusetts Boston next month.

You may skip over any questions you are unable or unwilling to answer, although completed surveys will be much appreciated . I look forward to your responses and invaluable insights. Thanks for taking the time to participate! Please feel free to forward this to others who may be willing to participate, and don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have. Here is a link to the Google doc:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/16O9cl6xFMUblIKOiYm42xhxLEn13Gw0BKHFS6EVPb4Y/edit?usp=sharing