• For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Suggestions for 4 - 5 days from Gijon?

rainalready

Time of past OR future Camino
North route, May 2015
Hola, looking forward to my first ever camino next week!

Due to some travel constraints, we start from Santander and walk to Gijon (where my friends will end their camino), and I have 4 - 5 more days before my flight home from Bilbao. It's my first time in the north of Spain, and I would love to use the time to hike somewhere scenic (or minimal asphalt), and hope to complete the rest of the camino in a future trip.

From Gijon, I'm considering a few options:

1) Continue on from Gijon for 4 - 5 more days (to Luarca? or to Oviedo?), then find some kind of bus back to Bilbao for my flight out
2) Take a bus back to Santander (where I started), and then walk from Santander in the "wrong" direction of camino to Bilbao within 4.5 days for my flight out. This way, it would be nice to have completed a neat/continuous Bilbao-Gijon stretch, so in a future trip I can simply continue the camino from Gijon. However it seems that the signage is not so good in reverse, and you miss out on the social experience of walking together?
3) Take bus/train from Gijon to San Sebastian, then walk from San Sebastian to Bilbao so that I'm walking in the right direction. I hear this is great scenery but could be too rushed (normally takes 6 days with all the ups & downs?)
4) Find a way to hike Los Picos for 3 days or so - amazing scenery but inconvenient to get there in such a short time
5) Any other ideas?

Probably I should just go with #1 to not over-complicate things, but appreciate any ideas you might have. Thanks & buen camino!