• Get your Camino Frances Guidebook here.
  • For 2024 Pilgrims: €50,- donation = 1 year with no ads on the forum + 90% off any 2024 Guide. More here.
    (Discount code sent to you by Private Message after your donation)
  • ⚠️ Emergency contact in Spain - Dial 112 and AlertCops app. More on this here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

The Albergue Sleeping Bag in Winter

M

markinwinter

Hi, could someone give me the down low on the appropriate sleeping bag. I tend to sleep hot so have purchased a 32 degree lightweight bag for my 10 days on the Camino the end of January. I have read several places that you should carry a 3 season bag for Camino in winter because some of the Albergues are not heated at night. I have a 20 degree bag which is great when it's cold but not sure how the Albergues are getting much below 40 degrees without the pipes freezing. HELP.

Get a spanish phone number with Airalo. eSim, so no physical SIM card. Easy to use app to add more funds if needed.
The 32 degree Fahrenheit bag should do nicely ;-) Buen Camino, SY

Keep in mind that you will have been walking all day, possibly in quite a bit of snow, spending an evening in an albergue with little heat and will not have had a long hot shower or bath. So while technically albeegues are kept at a temp that will not allow the pipes to freeze, you could feel the chill a lot more. There is only so much tea one can drink to try to keep warm.

I was cold enough in May of 2013 that I would not want to walk from November to late April. I vote for the 3 seasons bag.

Down bag (90/10 duvet) of 700 fills with 180 g (6.34 ounces) of filling. Mummy-shaped structure, ideal when you are looking for lightness with great heating performance.

€149,-
I agree, 32F bag should be fine. If it does dip you can always wear some extra clothes on those rare nights. That said, I took a -7C down bag and was thankful to have it ;)